Flattop's broad summit has had one of the most interesting and unique collections of structures than any other. About 1921, a 16x20' frame house was constructed on the east end of the summit, but was moved to the west end 1/4 mile away in 1930. About this time a 7x7' frame cab was built in the east end, replaced in 1933 by an L-5 cab. In 1934, two screened porches and an observation cupola were added to the west end cabin. Then in 1946, a prototype 2-story 14x14' frame cab with slanted windows and curved hip roof was constructed. It was to become the next generation lookout around the Pacific Northwest, but the R-6 flat cab later became the standard. Thus, it is the only one of this style ever built. The site was abandoned in 1960, and the cabin on the west side was destroyed. The east side lookout withstood vandalism and countless threats by the landowner (DNR) to tear it down until 2005 when the FFLA dismantled it and relocated the cab to the Columbia Breaks Fire Interpretive Center in Entiat.
Gifford Pinchot National Forest
4 miles northwest of Trout Lake
Skamania County, Washington
Elevation 4394'

Click for larger image
Flattop West Flattop East in 1946 Flattop East in 1998 Flattop at the Columbia Breaks Fire Interpretive Center in 2010
Photos courtesy the Fire Lookout Museum and Nancy Belt